European Herring Gull


There are currently three subspecies of the European Herring Gull (Larus argentatus):
1. L. a. argentatus, the nominate form, sometimes known as the Scandinavian Herring Gull, breeds in Scandinavia and north-west Russia. Northern and eastern populations migrate south-west in winter. It is a large, bulky gull with extensive white in the wingtips.
2. L. a. argenteus, sometimes known as the Western European Herring Gull breeds in Western Europe in Iceland, the Faroes, Britain, Ireland, France, Belgium, the Netherlands and Germany. Many birds are resident while others make short-distance migratory journeys. It is smaller than L. a. argentatus with more black and less white in the wingtips and paler upper parts; and
3. L. a. ommissus, sometimes known as the Baltic Herring Gull. It is distinguised by a lighter mantle, longer wings, usually a black band on P5 and with a strong tendency to show yellow legs (instead of pink). 

These are L.a. argenteus.

Top & Left: Veere, The Netherlands, 11 June 2010
Middle: Schiermonnikoog, The Netherlands, 18 february 2007
Right: Jacob Catskade, Amsterdam, The Netherlands, 18 December 2019

Scientific Name:
Dutch Name:
Type of animal: